
“The Goal was disallowed because….. “-EFL Releases Statement Explaining Sheffield United’s Disallowed Goal in Play-Off Final as Mike Dean Offers His Assessment
VAR Controversy as Harrison Burrows Goal Disallowed in Play-Off Final
The Championship play-off final between Sheffield United and Sunderland saw a lengthy delay after a goal from Harrison Burrows was ruled out for offside following a VAR review.
Sheffield United, already leading through Tyrese Campbell’s composed finish after a sharp move involving Gus Hamer, thought they had doubled their advantage just before halftime.
Burrows fired a low shot through a packed penalty area, beating Sunderland goalkeeper Anthony Patterson.
However, the goal was subjected to a long VAR check. Referee Chris Kavanagh was eventually called to the pitchside monitor to review a potential offside by Vini Souza.
The Brazilian midfielder was deemed to have obstructed Patterson’s view, preventing the goalkeeper from reacting in time.
As a result, the goal was overturned, and the Blades went into the break with a narrow 1-0 lead.
Former Premier League referee Mike Dean offered his analysis on Sky Sports as the decision was being made.
“It’s a close call,” Dean said. “As the shot comes in, the player drops back late, and he’s in the goalkeeper’s line of sight.
Because the ball is moving away from Patterson, he can’t dive straight away—he’s delayed by the presence of the player.
It really comes down to whether the VAR believes he’s interfered with the goalkeeper. Personally, I think he has, so I expect the goal to be disallowed.”
Dean added that VAR likely asked Kavanagh to review an objective offside position, leaving the final decision to whether Souza’s positioning had a material impact on Patterson’s ability to make a save.
Following the incident, the EFL released a statement explaining the ruling:
“#SHUSUN – 35’ VAR OVERTURN: Burrows’ goal was initially awarded on-field.
VAR checked and determined that Vinicius Souza was in an offside position and made an obvious action that clearly impacted the goalkeeper’s ability to play the ball.
The referee overturned his original decision and the goal was disallowed.”